Voxalot / SIP Broker Support Forums

Voxalot / SIP Broker Support Forums (http://forum.sipbroker.com/index.php)
-   Voxalot Support (http://forum.sipbroker.com/forumdisplay.php?f=4)
-   -   Voxalot launches iNum Connectivity (http://forum.sipbroker.com/showthread.php?t=3629)

martin 12-22-2008 10:08 PM

Voxalot launches iNum Connectivity
 
Please see http://forum.voxalot.com/voxalot-sup...uncements.html

Feedback welcome.

Edit: Adding info to this post...

VoXalot has a range within the +883 country code (INUM):

+883 510 004 XXXXXX

Where XXXXXX is the Voxalot account number.

This setup is now live in production (both Voxalot and Voxbone).

NOTE: You can not call Voxalot <-> Voxalot using the 883510004 prefix as this does not make much sense. You can however, use the 883510004 from any of the other iNum providers (Gizmo etc) and some PSTN carriers.

iNum echo test: 883510000000091

For locations where the local PSTN carrier is not yet supporting the +883 country code, access numbers are provided:

iNum - One number for the world - iNum Partners

Ron 12-23-2008 05:39 AM

Martin,

How does Voxalot determine that an outgoing call is to be routed via iNum? I don't find a Sip Broker *Code for iNum. Does Voxalot assume that any dialed number starting with 883 is an iNum number and pick it off? If I simply dial the iNum echo test (883510000000091), I get a fast busy. I've tried various Dial Plan entries to ensure that any number starting with 883 was routed to Voxalot as the provider, but that also gets a fast busy or "Your call could not be connected". Would you please elaborate on how iNum numbers are detected and handled, and what, if anything, we have to have in our Dial Plans to support them?

Inbound calls to my Voxalot number from an iNum PSTN access number or Sip Broker PSTN access number work fine.

Thanks,
Ron

martin 12-23-2008 06:01 AM

Sorry Ron we were trialing a new ENUM root that was intercepting the calls. You should not need to change anything as iNum calls should be seamless. You just need to make sure that none of your dial plan entries are kicking in.

Please try again and let me know if it is OK?

Thanks

emoci 12-23-2008 06:08 AM

Hmm,

Still not working yet...I actually managed to see it route to an 8x.xx. IP once while running a test via the Dial Plan test line... (I assume that was the eNum root)

martin 12-23-2008 06:33 AM

Yes that was the ENUM root.

The dial plan test facility on the web site does not yet support iNum so for now what you are looking for is the following message when you click "Test Call":

"A call to:883510000000091 will not get forwarded"

emoci 12-23-2008 06:42 AM

Well not sure...I'm still getting a busy tone...

Testing with:
883510000000091
883510074022302

martin 12-23-2008 06:46 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by emoci (Post 20573)
Well not sure...I'm still getting a busy tone...

Testing with:
883510000000091
883510074022302

Very strange. Just tried 883510074022302 and got the the SIP Broker PSTN gateway.

Which proxy are you connected to?

emoci 12-23-2008 06:49 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by martin (Post 20574)
Very strange. Just tried 883510074022302 and got the the SIP Broker PSTN gateway.

Which proxy are you connected to?

The US server

martin 12-23-2008 06:52 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by emoci (Post 20575)
The US server

I just grepped the logs on both the US1 and US2 proxies for "883510074022302" and got nothing.

Is there a chance that the call to 883510074022302 did not get to Voxalot?

emoci 12-23-2008 06:59 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by martin (Post 20576)
I just grepped the logs on both the US1 and US2 proxies for "883510074022302" and got nothing.

Is there a chance that the call to 883510074022302 did not get to Voxalot?

It's possible...grab records once more and see if anything shows up now if you can... maybe willhave to do some testing internally make sure it's not an ATA dialplan issue

martin 12-23-2008 07:02 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by emoci (Post 20577)
It's possible...grab records once more and see if anything shows up now if you can... maybe willhave to do some testing internally make sure it's not an ATA dialplan issue

3 new entries on US2 using speed dial.

emoci 12-23-2008 07:07 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by martin (Post 20578)
3 new entries on US2 using speed dial.

Well those are mine (although not sure if it's a good thing that only those made it through)

Edit:
Fixed, it was an ATA dial plan issue.

For anyone in the US/Canada adjusting for 10/11 digit dialing using something along the lines:
(<:1>[2-9]xx[2-9]xxxxxxS0|1[2-9]xx[2-9]xxxxxxS0|011xx.|*xx|[*#x][*x].)

the 10/11 digit dialing will intercept 883 calls, so it may worthwhile to add:
(883x.|<:1>[2-9]xx[2-9]xxxxxxS0|1[2-9]xx[2-9]xxxxxxS0|011xx.|*xx|[*#x][*x].)

Also:
-No Smart Call/Dial Plan is required, in fact setting one up with VoXalot as the provider causes a busy signal
-Speed Dials for 883 numbers selecting Smart Call or VoXalot as the provider do no seem to work yet

martin 12-23-2008 07:29 AM

Thanks emoci. We will look into the dial plan and speed dial issues.

carlosalbffgomes 12-23-2008 09:26 AM

iNum working // Voxalot EU Server
 
It's working! I'm using the EU Server in Portugal and dialling +883510000000091 through Voxalot I enter the echo test (this number is dialled as stated above, as if I was dialling an ENUM number through Voxalot).
I like the iNum idea, but I doubt that here in Portugal any of the Telecoms will be interested in participating in iNum... at least with a local rate cost associated with it as it has been proposed. So, I think that would be a great idea if a SIP Broker route were created. For me, the nearest iNum access number is in Madrid (Spain), but we have two (Lisbon and Oporto) SIP Broker access numbers in Portugal. So, would be interesting if I could dial an iNum through one of these SIP Broker access numbers.
Thanks for the good work and ideas.
Yours,

mgoebel 12-23-2008 10:24 AM

Thank you so much!
 
Thank you very much for my iNum number. I am so excited! I will directly check it out. I was dreaming of this for more than a year already:
Markus Göbel's Tech News Comments

shezad 12-23-2008 12:30 PM

Info:
I tried using voipbuster and dialed 00883510004990xxx and i could only hear it ring and ring on the phone and after 3 or 4 bell tunes a tape says "unfortunly it is not possible to ring this number at this moment". It did not ring at my voxalot number :(

But when i used gizmocall and tried my registered adapter with voxalot rang.

Anyone else got it to work with voipbuster = ? or any other betamax products?

I also tried using the softphone, same error message. It shows that the call is free.

krbonne 12-23-2008 02:25 PM

enum-root
 
Hi,

Quote:

Originally Posted by martin (Post 20570)
Sorry Ron we were trialing a new ENUM root that was intercepting the calls. You should not need to change anything as iNum calls should be seamless. You just need to make sure that none of your dial plan entries are kicking in.
Thanks

What is the enum-root for inum? I run a asterisk at home.


Cheerio! Kr. Bonne.

mgoebel 12-23-2008 02:30 PM

I just tried it with Betamax' Sparvoip and didn't have much luck. I heard the dialing tone but the connected phone never rang. From Truphone and Gizmo5 my Voxalot iNum works perfect. Thanks a lot! :)

I am also excited that even Peru has a local access number for iNum.What's now missing is: free calls from Skype to iNum. In this case I could forward all Skype calls to my number and could answer all calls on a normal phone. (No Voxeo developer hack necessar anmore). ;)

blanu 12-23-2008 05:07 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by krbonne (Post 20589)
What is the enum-root for inum?

If the ENUM root is not public available, then perhaps it'd be an idea for voxalot to put its entire iNum range in, say, e164.org (or even e164.arpa)?

Cheers,
Blanu

--
חג אורים שמח

emoci 12-23-2008 05:38 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by shezad (Post 20588)
Info:
I tried using voipbuster and dialed 00883510004990xxx and i could only hear it ring and ring on the phone and after 3 or 4 bell tunes a tape says "unfortunly it is not possible to ring this number at this moment". It did not ring at my voxalot number :(

But when i used gizmocall and tried my registered adapter with voxalot rang.

Anyone else got it to work with voipbuster = ? or any other betamax products?

I also tried using the softphone, same error message. It shows that the call is free.

Chances are BetaMax has not enabled calling out to this yet...or try 883 (without 00) and see what happens...

klijnw 12-23-2008 08:36 PM

Hi, I also tried via voipbuster the 883510004xxxxxx number and got the same problem => rings 3 or 4 times and then says "unfortunedly it is not possible to ring this number at this moment". I also tried via PSTN the country INUM-accessnummer in Amsterdam 020-8080808 followed by the same 883510004xxxxxx and it worked FINE! My Voxalotphone ring including numberregonistion from the original line ... PERFECT! So I think it's a voipbuster problem.

rybshik 12-23-2008 08:54 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by klijnw (Post 20593)
Hi, I also tried via voipbuster the 883510004xxxxxx number

How do you get the prefix "510004" for voipbuster? what is the rest "xxxxxx"? Voipbuster's username?

If my voipbuster username is 'dude1975', what should i dial?

How one gets the code/prefix for another Betamax server?

Thanks.

ataboy 12-23-2008 09:22 PM

I just tried three PSTN iNum access numbers at random (Paris, Chicago and Stockholm) and all 3 calls failed to connect.

I was calling from a GSM phone, not over VoIP.

Edit: I just called the London number from a BT line (i.e. as local as you can get) and got the message "The service cannot be connected".

carlosalbffgomes 12-23-2008 09:26 PM

As far as I know, only Voxeo, Gizmo and Voxalot has already issued iNum numbers to its customers. Voipbuster doesn't have done it yet, despite it's listed has one of the supporters of the iNum initiative. However, in their rates pages they says that dialling an iNum number has no cost. But as emoci said, maybe they haven't yet activated the route for calling iNum numbers, so the call to an iNum can not be connected.

thegreatfixer 12-24-2008 01:17 AM

good info i use Gizmo & Voxalot and look forward to this

kwag 12-24-2008 03:22 AM

iNum access number
 
Last night, and this morning, the access number for iNum in Puerto Rico (787) 395-7140 was working perfectly.

Since this afternoon, all I get is "The number you are calling is temporarily unavailable"

This makes me wonder who controls the quality of service of these DID lines :confused:

I'm sure it's not iNum's fault, but probably whoever they selected to provide the DID service on location. :mad:

rybshik 12-24-2008 04:25 AM

I do not see how iNum is better or more useful than SipBroker

kwag 12-24-2008 06:29 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by rybshik (Post 20602)
I do not see how iNum is better or more useful than SipBroker

I agree with you!

g00fy 12-24-2008 06:52 AM

Yesterday I could call the echo test, but since this morning I get the 'not exsisting'-tone when dialing any iNum number.

krbonne 12-24-2008 12:05 PM

(un-)usefullness of iNum
 
Hi Rybshik,

Quote:

Originally Posted by rybshik (Post 20602)
I do not see how iNum is better or more useful than SipBroker

Well, I also have my question marks about this service.

At first sight, iNum looks very interesting as they provide ITU-assigned e164 numbers which -in theory- should also be accessable from the PSTN-network. (iff you read the ITU-document "at cost of a 'national' call").

However, then I ask myself why they set up a seperate enum-root, and not use the "official" e164.arpa tree like everybody else.


My guess is that -very simple- voxbone want to get incoming calls on their netwerk and -in fact- compete with sipbroker.
So, I agree with you- it would indeed be a good idea if e164.org would also register these inum-addresses so that they can also be used from the sipbroker dialin-network.

BTW. Has anybody see this:
http://www.itu.int/dms_pub/itu-t/oth...F30001MSWE.doc

"The initial +883*5100 dialling plan will consist of +883*5100 followed by five digits, i.e. +883*510*0XX*XXX.".
So does this mean that the numbers as assigned by voxalot at not ITU-complient?


Cheerio! Kr. Bonne.

emoci 12-24-2008 02:44 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by krbonne (Post 20605)
Hi Rybshik,



Well, I also have my question marks about this service.

At first sight, iNum looks very interesting as they provide ITU-assigned e164 numbers which -in theory- should also be accessable from the PSTN-network. (iff you read the ITU-document "at cost of a 'national' call").

However, then I ask myself why they set up a seperate enum-root, and not use the "official" e164.arpa tree like everybody else.


My guess is that -very simple- voxbone want to get incoming calls on their netwerk and -in fact- compete with sipbroker.

I believe it is less about competing with SipBroker and more about the upcoming opportunity to be the terminator of choice for Telcos.

In General iNum as it is helps in two directions:

1. Calls between users of various networks are now direct. We never did have much of a problem here at VoXalot with direct calls to Gizmo given SipBroker's integration. However take a TPad or BetaMax user, and they'd have to set up their ATA for SipBroker independently of the provider. With iNum it is a direct call.

2. If VoXBone manages to convice a few Telcos to terminate to these numbers, I suspect +883 will become a relatively big hit with Intl Roaming operators. Here's where VoXBone is likely to be looking for profits, as they'll charge the fee for terminating the calls.

On that note, I also suspect that not getting listed in e164.arpa was not mean-spirited just an indication of the red-tape involved to get there.

Quote:

BTW. Has anybody see this:
http://www.itu.int/dms_pub/itu-t/oth...F30001MSWE.doc

"The initial +883*5100 dialling plan will consist of +883*5100 followed by five digits, i.e. +883*510*0XX*XXX.".
So does this mean that the numbers as assigned by voxalot at not ITU-complient?

Cheerio! Kr. Bonne.
That is interesting. So far numbers handed to Gizmo, VoXalot and even the Echo testing number are 15 digits...

green 12-24-2008 05:11 PM

If you want to test calls to iNum numbers you may dial for free at least one of iNum local access numbers - 6468436969 (New York, NY USA) using Gizmo5 Backdoor Dialing.

klijnw 12-24-2008 09:38 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by rybshik (Post 20594)
How do you get the prefix "510004" for voipbuster? what is the rest "xxxxxx"? Voipbuster's username? If my voipbuster username is 'dude1975', what should i dial?

As far as I understand Voxalot provides all voxalot-users an INUM. So my INUM at Voxalot is 883510004xxxxxx (where xxxxxx is my Voxalot-user).

Voipbuster doesn't provides its users an INUM (not yet).
Voipbuster says it is possible to phone an INUM (for free). And that is good because there are only a few providers in the world who opened their network for calling to +883-numbers. And indeed it is possible to call for free (even if you have no credit at all) via voipbuster. But the connection fails at the end.

Ron 12-25-2008 01:06 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by martin (Post 20570)
Sorry Ron we were trialing a new ENUM root that was intercepting the calls. You should not need to change anything as iNum calls should be seamless. You just need to make sure that none of your dial plan entries are kicking in.

Please try again and let me know if it is OK?

Thanks

Still not working, Martin. Still getting "We're sorry, the number you have called could not be connected".

883510000000091 is being routed to Voxalot as the privider by an explicit Dial Plan rule that looks for a prefix of '6'. A Dial Plan Test returns "A call to:6883510000000091 will get forwarded to 883510000000091 via Voxalot".

emoci 12-25-2008 02:19 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ron (Post 20620)
Still not working, Martin. Still getting "We're sorry, the number you have called could not be connected".

883510000000091 is being routed to Voxalot as the privider by an explicit Dial Plan rule that looks for a prefix of '6'. A Dial Plan Test returns "A call to:6883510000000091 will get forwarded to 883510000000091 via Voxalot".

Ron,

See http://forum.voxalot.com/voxalot-sup...html#post20579

At the moment creating a specific Dial Plan rule within VoXalot only gets in the way...you'll need to adjust your ATA dialplan instead to remove the 6 appropriately...

Ron 12-25-2008 04:14 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by emoci (Post 20621)
Ron,

See http://forum.voxalot.com/voxalot-sup...html#post20579

At the moment creating a specific Dial Plan rule within VoXalot only gets in the way...you'll need to adjust your ATA dialplan instead to remove the 6 appropriately...

Emoci,

I'm afraid that's not easily done as my entire Dial Plan design is based on the ATA prefixing everything it sends to Voxalot with a digit (0 - 9), except for things with a leading asterisk (i.e. Sip Broker and Speed Dial numbers). My PAP2 Dial Plan is:

(*[x*].|<#:>x,x[x*].|<:0>x[x*].)

This allows simple dialing to go to my primary VoIP provider for PSTN calls (default prefix 0), or to specify an alternate provider or destination by enterning #n first (#6 is Voxalot). Most #n combinations are already in use, including #8.

Assuming there is going to be support for iNum via Voxalot as a provider in the near future, I'll hold off as I'm very happy with the flexibilty I have with my current Dial Plan design.

Ron

krbonne 12-25-2008 11:07 PM

Hi,

Quote:

Originally Posted by emoci (Post 20611)
I believe it is less about competing with SipBroker and more about the upcoming opportunity to be the terminator of choice for Telcos.

I agree for first part. Voxbone has two potential revenue-sources: termination-fees and PSTN indial.

The first option will however only work of other telco's agree to accept calls to +883 5100. However, as do I do not see any economic motivation for them to do so, I fear this will go the same way as the +3883 (ETNS).

So, for the moment I see the "dialin" system as their main source of revenue.



Concerning, voip calls, the main problem I have with iNum, is that the fact they are building a system next to the already existing one, confuses people.

The big advantage of telephone-numbers is its clearity: You give somebody your phone-number and everybody knows how to reach you, by whatever network, anywhere in the world.

As a voxalot user, we now now only have a sipbroker ID (*010xxxxx) and a E164 number: +882 99 ... (e164.org) and now an additional +883 5100 ... (inum). (PWD-users even have an additional +878 UPT-number).

In essence, this is not a really issue, as long as all numbers work in all circumstances.
However, that's not the case: the sipbroker and e164.org numbers will work in some cases, the inum-number only in some other cases.

This confuses things. 99.999 % of the population has no idea what the differences is between sipbroker, e164.org, UPT and iNum. They just expects a telephone(number) to work, in all cases.
If inum would have used e164.arpa, that would have been the case.



Quote:

On that note, I also suspect that not getting listed in e164.arpa was not mean-spirited just an indication of the red-tape involved to get there.
The description of the procedure is here:
ENUM IAB Instructions

(see also The RIPE NCC to Sign the e164.arpa (ENUM) Zone - News & Announcements from the RIPE NCC)




Cheerio! Kr. Bonne.

green 12-26-2008 03:59 PM

I have a kind of feature request for Voxalot.

Let's imagine that my Voxalot number is 123456 and I'm calling Gizmo5 user using Voxalot & iNum numbering, so I'll dial something like +883 510 07 7654321
Currently this Gizmo5 subscriber will see my number presented as 123456.

What will be the more desirable behavior is to present my number to the called party as +883 510 004 123456

zonljmv 12-27-2008 11:36 AM

Hello,

Dialing inum numbers from voipbuster works fine now.
I have tried my inum numbers of voxeo and voxalot.
Also the inum echo test (00883510000000091) works fine.

Regards,
zonljmv

klijnw 12-27-2008 03:05 PM

Dialing INUM numbers via voipbuster is not yet working perfectly. I can ring a Voxalot-phone now (by dialing via Voipbuster) but when I try to answer, it doesn't work. Voipbuster keeps on ringing and doesn't seem to notice that the phone is picked up already ... or I do something wrong??


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:39 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.