Voxalot / SIP Broker Support Forums

Voxalot / SIP Broker Support Forums (http://forum.sipbroker.com/index.php)
-   Voxalot Support (http://forum.sipbroker.com/forumdisplay.php?f=4)
-   -   New to Voxalot some feedback - what does provider status "-" mean ?? (http://forum.sipbroker.com/showthread.php?t=1247)

7iron 03-18-2007 03:51 AM

New to Voxalot some feedback - what does provider status "-" mean ??
 
So I'm trying to register providers and the status is "-".

Would be useful if the bottom of the add provider page had some info on what the status meant. Also tried the FAQ and tutorials. And did a search here.

Its just a simple thing I'm sure I'll work out if that means I am registered or not and then totally forget that I ever had the question.


Cheers

martin 03-18-2007 10:15 AM

Hi,

The status field on a provider is used when "SIP Register" is set to "Yes". Otherwise it is not relevant which is why the "-" value is used.

voxod 03-18-2007 05:56 PM

So there are two registrations? One is register (setting up a provider and getting it to say "active") and the other is SIP register? Or maybe it's just unclear and the category called "status" is unclear. The category status should be changed to say what it means because we all think there's a status on every provider we've added whether we answered "yes" to "SIP Register" or not. I'm not trying to complain but the semantics of the words used just don't really register! :)

affinity 03-19-2007 12:32 AM

Set to "Active" means that the provider can be used for outgoing calls via your dial plan.

Setting SIP Register to "Yes" means that you can receive incoming calls from this provider -- however if the provider offers SIP URI forwarding features, then you should not have to set SIP Register to "Yes", instead you set the SIP URI forward to your voxalot account -- ala sip:123123@voxalot.com

The other caveat is that some providers require an account to be registered so that outgoing calls can be made. If your provider doesn't have this limitation and incoming calls from the provider are not required, then settings SIP Register to "No" is the best setting to use.

poyner 03-19-2007 09:17 AM

Maybe the "-" could be changed to "N/A" or "Not Registered" or something similar?

martin 03-19-2007 11:26 AM

Good suggestions. We have made a note of the concerns and will address them in the next release.


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:49 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.